SDLC – Software Development Life Cycle and DevOps | Day-2

In this second DevOps bite-size tutorial, we discuss the SDLC – Software Development Life Cycle and it’s relation to DevOps.

SDLC (Software development life cycle) needs to be understood while discussing DevOps. If you want to work in a Software development organization, you have to understand SDLC.

Definition of Software development life cycle:

A process followed by the Software or IT industry.

The phase of SDLC:

  • Design
  • Develop
  • Test

The end goal of SDLC:

Deliver a high-quality product.

For example, ideation to launch of, there is maybe these phases:

  • Planning (gathering requirements/feedback from customers and so on)
  • Defining (documenting the requirements/software specification and so on)
  • Designing (HLD/LLD: high/low-level design)
  • Building
  • Testing
  • Deploying
SDLC - Software development life cycle
From the above phases, building, testing, and deploying are the phases where DevOps are involved by automating these phases.


For example, during the building of the software, developers put the code to the central repository (git), then testing needs to be done by a QA tester (to the staging server) and then finally it is deployed to the production server. DevOps fastens the process, making it quick and automated.

You need to remember, that a DevOps engineer doesn’t build, test, and deploy the software, he automates these processes.

Read the previous chapter here DevOps Definition & Fundamentals | Day-1

I am preparing the next chapter, stay tuned, it will be published soon. Thank you for reading.

About the Author

Jamal is a Full-stack Developer having more than 12+ years of experience and is based in Helsinki, Finland. He is doing his 9-5 Developer job but, in his free time, he loves to create tutorials and connect with people.

Hooray! 🎉 Our Ultimate Figma Mega Course is live for you!